Seals Vs Sea Lions Vs Walrus: What’s The Difference?

Some animals, like seals, sea lions, and walruses, are well-known for their impressive strength and fur. Others, like polar bears, are known for their furry torsos and enormous claws. But what’s the difference between seals, sea lions, and walruses? Let’s take a look!

What are Seals?

Sea lions are aquatic mammals that belong to the family Phocidae. They are found in all the oceans of the world, except for the Arctic Ocean. Seals are marine mammals and can be found in many different parts of the world.

Seal populations range from tens of thousands to over a million individuals. The largest seal population is on St. Paul Island in the Canadian Arctic. There are about 900,000 seals living on St. Paul Island.

The second-largest seal population is located on the Ellesmere Island in Nunavut, Canada. There are about 600,000 seals living on Ellesmere Island.

Walruses are an animal that belongs to the family Odobenidae and can be found in both the Arctic and Antarctic regions of the world. Walruses are not closely related to seals and they can be distinguished from seals by their bulky body shape and tusks that protrude from their lower jaw. Walruses can grow to be over two meters (six feet) long and weigh over 500 kilograms (1,100 pounds).

What are Sea Lions?

Sea lions are a type of seal that lives in the ocean. They have short fur and they weigh around 110-220 pounds. Their diet includes fish, squid, and other sea creatures. Sea lions are social animals and they live in groups called rookeries.

What are some interesting facts about sea lions?

Some interesting facts about sea lions include that they are able to swim at speeds of up to 33 mph and they have a lifespan of around 25-30 years.

What are Walruses?

Walruses are marine mammals that can be found in both the Arctic and Antarctic oceans. They are similar in many ways to seals, but they have a thicker coat of fur that helps them stay warm in colder waters. Walruses are one of the least-known species of seal, and they are considered to be a threatened species.

Behavior and Diet

The seals vs sea lions vs walrus debate is one that has been around for centuries. However, the differences between these three species are actually quite significant. Here’s a look at what each of these animals does and how their diet differs.

Seals are the most common marine mammal on earth, and they typically live in packs of up to 100 individuals. They are very playful and often engage in social rituals such as grooming one another. Seals eat a variety of things, including fish, crustaceans, mollusks, and even sea urchins.

Sea lions are similar to seals in that they live in packs and eat a variety of things. However, sea lions are more aggressive and territorial than seals, and they can weigh up to 1,000 pounds (454 kg). Sea lions primarily eat fish, but they will also eat clams, crabs, and other marine creatures.

Walruses are the largest group of marine mammals, and they can weigh up to 2,000 pounds (907 kg). Walruses are mostly herbivorous, eating roots, berries, leaves, and other plants. They can also consume small amounts of meat if they happen to catch a fish.

Population Growth

In the Arctic, seals, sea lions, and walruses live in close proximity to each other. And while these animals are all mammals, they have different diets and lifestyles. So what’s the difference between seals, sea lions, and walruses? Here’s a look at their populations and how they’ve grown over the years.

Seal populations are growing

Seals are one of the most common mammals in Arctic waters. According to The Guardian, there were an estimated 1.3 million seals living in the Arctic in 2016. That’s up from about 500,000 seals in the 1970s. The increase is likely due to several factors, including global warming and commercial hunting that has reduced the population of sea lions in the area.

Sea lion populations are declining

Though they’re not as common as seals, sea lions still play an important role in the Arctic ecosystem. Sea lions eat fish and other marine life, which helps to maintain coral reefs and other marine habitats. However, their population has been declining for several decades. In 2016 there were only an estimated 100,000 sea lions living in the Arctic – down from an estimated 5 million in 1975. Declining sea lion populations may be due to commercial hunting

The Different Types of Seals

There are many different types of seals. The two most common seal species are the Harbor Seal and the Atlantic Seal.

Harbor Seal

The Harbor Seal is a small seal that lives in the harbor. They mainly eat small fish and crustaceans.

Atlantic Seal

The Atlantic Seal is a large seal that lives in the ocean. They mainly eat fish and other marine mammals such as seals and sea lions.

Seal populations are also divided into two main categories: fur seals and bald eagles. Fur seals are mainly found in the North Atlantic, while bald eagles are mainly found in the North Pacific.

The Differences Between Seals, Sea Lions, and Walruses

Seals are the smallest of the three and can be found in cold waters around the world. They have a thick coat of fur that helps them stay warm underwater. Sea lions are slightly larger than seals and can be found in both cold and warm water.

They don’t have a thick coat of fur, but they do have a layer of blubber under their skin that helps keep them warm. Walruses are the largest of the three and can be found in Arctic waters. They have a thick coat of fur that helps keep them warm, but they also have a layer of blubber under their skin that protects them from Polar bears.

Seals Vs Sea Lions Vs Walrus: Which is The Best Animal To Hunt?

Seal hunting is one of the oldest forms of hunting still practiced today.

Seals are found all over the world and can be hunted from a boat or from shore.

Sea lions can also be hunted from a boat, but they are mostly hunted from shore because they like to sunbathe on rocks.

The walrus is a type of seal that live in cold environments such as ice islands and are the largest animal found in the ocean.


There are a few key differences between seals, sea lions, and walrus that you should be aware of if you’re thinking about buying one as a pet. For starters, seals are the smallest marine mammals out there. They can weigh anywhere from 10 to 90 kg (22 to 198 pounds), while sea lions can weigh up to 450 kg (1,000 pounds) and walruses can weigh up to 2,000 kg (4,400 pounds). Secondly, all three of these animals have fur — except for the walrus which doesn’t have any! Finally, they all enjoy swimming in the water and diving deep below the surface.