narwhal vs beluga vs swordfish whats the difference 5374

Narwhal Vs Beluga Vs Swordfish: What’s The Difference?

One of the most common questions anglers ask is what differentiates one type of fish from another. In this article, we’ll explore the differences between narwhal, beluga, and swordfish, and help you decide which one is right for you.

What is a Narwhal?

The narwhal is a marine mammal that is found in the Arctic Ocean and the North Atlantic. The narwhal has a long, tusk-like tooth that is used to capture prey.

Narwhals are one of the most unusual mammals because they have a single horn on their head.

Narwhals are classified as a whale but are unique because they are the only mammals that can actually narwhal (to use the tusk to stab and kill prey).

What is a Beluga Whale?

A beluga whale is the largest of the three types of whales. They can reach up to 20 feet long and weigh up to a ton. They are also known for their beautiful, white, blowhole-less heads.

Beluga whales are similar to narwhals but they have two tusks that are longer than their body. Belugas are also found in the Arctic Ocean and the North Atlantic.

Belugas are found in the Arctic and subarctic oceans. They are the only species of whale that can swim under ice.

What is a Swordfish?

A swordfish is a large, long-bladed fish that is typically silver or blue in color. Swordfish are found in the Atlantic, Pacific, and Indian Oceans. They can grow up to 6 feet long and weigh as much as 400 pounds.

Swordfish are a popular fish for seafood restaurants because of their enormous size and razor-sharp blade-tipped snout. Swordfish eat a variety of fish and marine mammals, but they are known to be particularly aggressive predators.

Swordfish are one of the most common types of fish in the ocean. They can be found in all oceans except for the polar regions. Swordfish have a long, thin sword-like bill that they use to catch their prey. Swordfish are sexually dimorphic, meaning that the males have a larger sword than the females.

Comparison of Narwhal, Beluga, and Swordfish

There are many different types of fish in the ocean, but one of the most popular is the swordfish. These fish can be found in all sorts of different habitats, but they all have one thing in common- their impressive size.

Narwhal and beluga whales are also large creatures, but they don’t compare to the size of a swordfish. Swordfish can reach up to three meters in length and weigh up to 200 kilograms.

One of the main differences between narwhals and belugas is their teeth. Narwhals have tusk-like teeth that are used to grind food. Belugas have two sets of teeth in their mouths- a small set on the top and a bigger set on the bottom. Swordfish have a single set of teeth on the top of their mouth that they use to catch food.

Another difference between these aquatic mammals is their diets. Narwhals eat mostly seals and other marine mammals, while belugas eat mostly fish. Swordfish eat a variety of things, but they are especially fond of fish.

Despite these differences, there are some things that all three animals have in common. They are all amazing swimmers that can swim at speeds of up to 50 kilometers per hour. They are also all capable of diving deep underwater and staying submerged for a long period of time.

The Differences Between Narwhal, Beluga, and Swordfish

When it comes to the world of fish, there are a few that stand out from the rest. One of these is the narwhal, which can be found in the Arctic Ocean. The beluga whale can be found in the Arctic and Atlantic oceans, and the swordfish can be found all over the world. While all three fish are amazing in their own way, here’s a look at some of the key differences between them.


The narwhal is one of the largest whales on Earth, and can reach a length of up to 10 meters (33 feet). The beluga whale is slightly smaller, with an average length of 8.3 meters (27 feet). The swordfish is by far the smallest of the three fish, with an average length of 2.8 meters (9.2 feet).


Narwhals weigh as much as 2,000 kilograms (4,400 pounds), while belugas weigh around 1,300 kilograms (2,800 pounds) on average. Swordfishes weigh considerably less than either of these two species, usually only reaching weights in the 200 to 600 kilogram range (440 to 1,500 pound range).


The narwhal’s tail is uniquely shaped, and can be up to two meters (6.6 feet) long. The beluga whale’s tail is also distinctive, but not as long as the narwhal’s. The swordfish has a fairly standard tail shape, with no real stand out features.

Skin Tone

All three fish have light skin tones, with the Narwhal having the darkest skin of the three. Belugas and swordfishes both have a slightly darker color than the Narwhal, but they are still very light in comparison to other fish species.


The beluga whale is known for its gentle nature, while the swordfish is known for its powerful swimmer capabilities. Both of these fish are capable of diving to great depths underwater, which makes them ideal for hunting prey in deep waters. The narwhal is not as deeply diving as either of these two species, but it does have the ability to dive up to 1 kilometer (3,300 feet) below sea level.

What Does the Meat of a Narwhal, Beluga, or Swordfish Taste Like?

If you’re looking for a seafood dish that is out of this world, you should definitely try something from the narwhal, beluga, or swordfish family. Here’s a quick overview of these three fish and their respective meats:

Narwhal: The meat of a narwhal is actually quite unique. It’s a type of whale that’s mostly known for its tusk-like protrusion from its head. The meat from a narwhal is considered to be some of the most delicious in the world, and it usually comes with a slightly funky flavor.

Beluga: Belugas are another type of whale that are well-known for their huge heads and bodies. Their meat is also quite popular, and it tends to be a bit more tender than that of a narwhal. Some people even say that beluga meat tastes similar to beef.

Swordfish: Swordfish are perhaps the most common type of fish in restaurants. They’re not as big as some of the other types of fish mentioned here, but their meat is definitely worth trying. The flesh from a swordfish can be quite dense and flavorful, and it’s often prepared in different ways such as grilled or skew ered.

How To Cook Narwhal, Beluga, or Swordfish

Cooking a narwhal, beluga, or swordfish is not as difficult as it seems. The main difference between these three types of fish is their shape and size. Narwhals are the smallest of the three, with a body length of just over two feet and a weight of around one hundred and thirty pounds.

Belugas are slightly larger, with a body length of about two and a half feet and a weight of around two hundred and fifty pounds. Swordfish are the largest of the three, with a body length of over three feet and a weight of up to six hundred and sixty pounds.

All three types of fish can be cooked in the same way: by poaching in water that is at room temperature. Poaching means cooking the fish in its own juices, which helps to keep it moist and tender. You will need either a deep pot or a large skillet for poaching, and you will need to add enough water to cover the fish completely.

Bring the water to a simmer before adding the fish, then reduce the heat to low and simmer gently until the fish is cooked through (about fifteen minutes per type of fish). Serve hot with some lemon wedges if desired.


Narwhal, Beluga, and Swordfish are three types of marine mammals that share some similarities but also have a few key differences. If you’re looking to learn more about the different kinds of whales and what makes them unique, read on for a detailed comparison.

Similar Posts